The Table that Tugged at my Heart.

I did this table one afternoon. I was feeling blue and kind of sad. Recently a dear, long time friend of mine passed away. He and those close to him have been on my mind a lot since I heard the news of his passing, along with others gone too soon. I painted this table how I envision peace, tranquility and my version of heaven. I see white, blues, yellow and green when I think of someplace peaceful. I didn’t want perfect lines. I wanted it to be a bit blurry and somewhat abstract. I hope you enjoy.

Thee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveI used Heirloom Traditions Chalk Type Paint in Direct Green, A La Mode, Sundance, Synergy and Aqueduct and finished with White Lime Soft Wax. I took pictures as I worked. I managed to take enough to make a bit of a tutorial of the process. I’ve been asked for tutorials from time to time and this is my first one so please bear with me.

Thee Velvet Glove1) Coat of Direct Green Chalk Type Paint by Heirloom Traditions

2) Coat of A La Mode Chalk Type Paint by Heirloom Traditions

3) Sundance Chalk Type Paint by Heirloom Traditions in random places

4) Synergy Chalk Type Paint by Heirloom Traditions in random spots

5) A coat of Aqueduct Chalk Type Paint by Heirloom Traditions, then distress with 100,150 and 220 grit sandpaper so the layers of different colors come through. Finish up by blending together with White Liming Soft Wax by Heirloom Traditions. For more information on Heirloom Traditions’ Products please visit your local retailer or click here.

Thee Velvet Glove TutorialHeirloom Traditions Chalk Type PaintThee Velvet Glove - Before and AfterFunny story about my friend. His name was Charlie. I remember how kind and caring he was to me when my younger sister, Lisa passed away. He checked on me a lot via email, a phone call or instant messaging. I remember he hadn’t heard from me for a couple of days one time and I was sitting at my desk at work and a message popped up on Instant Messenger from him asking me “Are you there? Hellooo. Where did you go? Are you in witness protection?” and if I messaged him back and I didn’t type fast enough he would say “Are you typing with oven mits on!?” Lol. He would have me smiling and laughing and completely turn my day around with just a few keystrokes. He had an energy about him. When he came into a room he absolutely lit it up. He was larger than life. He will be missed by so many. If you see this Charlie, I hope you approve and I hope you know I think about you often and still giggle at the memories. There isn’t, nor will there ever be, anyone like you. -L

Chuck

Charles “Chuck” Erik Small ~ August 12, 1969 – July 25, 2015 ❤

Charlie

This picture was in the multiple pics I took of the table. I’ve gone back and forth trying to decide whether to include it or not, but I felt I had to because of its uniqueness. It was too hard for me to just leave it out. I’m not saying it’s him, but I’m not saying it’s not him either. I’m just putting it here. There were several in a row like this; these same beams, some brighter than others.

17 thoughts on “The Table that Tugged at my Heart.

  1. It’s perfect…and yes, he was a beam of light. I do believe that beam of light is there for a reason.It’s beautiful Lori…this is beautiful…he was beautiful.

  2. Absolutely beautiful, Lori. I’m moved to tears by this table and the pictures you captured of it. You’ve given a heartfelt, sincere tribute to our dear friend in a way that only you could.

  3. Thank you sooooo much for sharing your technique for this piece!!! And sharing your heart!!! I have always admired your work, the most unique and beautiful pieces I have ever seen on any of the blogs and FB pages that I follow!!!

  4. there are no coincidences! charlie’s just a thought away (or beam of light, as evidenced by your photos….) thanks for sharing your work, techniques, and especially your sweet stories with charlie

  5. I think those must be his smiles! Everyone needs someone like Charlie in their life! I am so sorry for your great loss. This type of friend is hard to come by.

  6. Its a beautiful piece of work….im so very sorry for your loss. May God fill you with His peace and comfort during this time. He is now an angel watching over you. Be blessed

  7. Pingback: A Special Savings for my Customers | Thee Velvet Glove

  8. Pingback: Before and Afters featuring Heirloom Traditions and Vintiques Chalk Type Paint Products | Thee Velvet Glove

Leave a Reply

