My Favorite Piece

I think out of all the pieces of furniture I’ve painted over the years this is my favorite. The colors, the shape of the piece, the artwork, the setting and most of all the message makes me smile when I look at it. I have a lot of hours in this one and I find myself super attached to it for some reason. We hauled it out to Gold Canyon and I got some pictures I’m really pleased with. It was a blank slate. All white. You can see in the before and after photo below.

After lots and lots of searching I purchased two prints I found to put in the ovals on the headboard and footboard. I looked and looked and found the “Be Kind To Others” on a site called Oopsy Daisy then searched the internet for hours (no exaggeration) until I found the one for the footboard “Magic Horses” on Etsy, which I fell in love with. It was then I discovered they were by the same artist!  The extremely talented Katie Daisy. She is absolutely amazing!

I painted it with variety of colors. Bright, happy colors. I used Begonia, Mandarin, Synergy, Sundance, Daredevil and A La Mode Chalk Type Paints by Heirloom Traditions. I used 1GEL to attach and seal the prints. I used Aurora Staining Gel in Snow White to seal the paint. Squeal! LOVE that stuff!!

I hope you enjoy it as much as I’ve enjoyed working on it. It’s a twin size and is for sale in my Etsy Shop.

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove - Before and After

 

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

A_LA_Mode_500x464__79606_1447444069_1000_1200

For more information on Heirloom Traditions products click here.

To locate a retailer close to you click here.

Thank you for stopping by! -L

Linked up to Friday’s Furniture Fix and The Creative Corner Link Up 83 at Pastels and Macarons.

16 thoughts on “My Favorite Piece

  1. It reminds me of our beautiful Arizona sunsets. You truly are an artist. This is awesome. Fun seeing you shoot the pictures and finding just the right angles and lighting to bring the beauty out. All this just before we went to shooting range to target shoot, “too high, too low, you are getting closer”. You were totally on target with this master piece.

  2. This is your FAVORITE? How much did Heirloom paints pay you to sell out? This piece of furniture is dreadful. Godawful. You have way more talent than this. What happened???

    • Wow, “SEA”! You clearly have multiple issues! Read the headboard! And then please consider getting some help. What a pathetic public display from a nameless, faceless coward. Sorry, Lori, can’t hold my tongue.

    • You, SEA, are a nasty troll. You should take the message written on this bed to heart. Either way, Lori is insanely talented and this piece is proof of that. I hope you got your moment of disgusting glee at being hateful since it’s what seems to keep people like you going every day. #sheisabetterpersonthanyouwilleverbe

      • Godawful? Dreadful? This piece is anything but those things. And I have to question why anyone would comment such insulting things to someone while acknowledging her incredible talent. I’d venture to guess that you have motive and an agenda that have nothing to do with Lori and it’s quite shameful that you’d resort to such ugliness for any reason.

  3. Pingback: A Special Savings for my Customers | Thee Velvet Glove

  4. Pingback: Before and Afters featuring Heirloom Traditions and Vintiques Chalk Type Paint Products | Thee Velvet Glove

Leave a Reply

