Painting Plastic – 20 Minute Makeover featuring Heirloom Traditions Chalk Type Paint

Want a quick makeover? This is a plastic, thrift store frame. Yes, you can paint plastic with Heirloom Traditions Paint Products. It’s got tons of grooves and it’s a great size. It started out gold and was pretty as it was, but I wanted pink and I had the perfect pink on hand, Posh Pink by White Lace Cottage for Heirloom Traditions Paint. I made over this frame from start to finish in about 20 minutes. I used Vintiques Engine No. 9 Chalk Type Paint, Heirloom Traditions Posh Pink Chalk Type Paint and Muddy Pond Spray Wax. Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day so I’m in full blown red and pink mode.

Thee Velvet Glove Before and AfterFirst, I brushed on some Engine No. 9 around the outside edges and corners of the frame. I did this because I knew I wanted a peek-a-boo color to come through after some light distressing. I let that dry, which being in Arizona doesn’t take much time. Then, I painted on Posh Pink Chalk Type Paint. This is a wonderfully sweet, perfect pink! After that I lightly distressed with 220 grit sandpaper.

Next, I poured some Muddy Pond Spray Wax onto a paper plate. I sprayed my brush with a little bit of water and dipped it into the Spray Wax, brushed it on and then wiped some away as shown in the video below. (I apologize for the video quality. That’s something I need to get better at.)

 

Muddy Pond is my favorite wax to bring out the detail and add some depth over pastels and whites. It’s my go to shade of wax.

And TaDa! All finished. Here are some more detailed pictures.

Thee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveMuddy Pond Spray Wax Before and Afterpp4Thee Velvet Glove Frame MakeoverThee Velvet GlovehvdFor more information on Heirloom Traditions products click here.

To locate a retailer in your area click here.

Happy Valentine’s Day and thank you for stopping by! -L

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Painting Plastic – 20 Minute Makeover featuring Heirloom Traditions Chalk Type Paint

  1. Now this kinda neat. A little too ornate for me but you might like it. You like that sort of romantic stuff. Apropos for Valentine’s Day I guess!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Pingback: Easy Spring Decor – Painting and Distressing Glass Bottles with Heirloom Traditions Chalk Type Paint | Thee Velvet Glove

  3. Pingback: Before and Afters featuring Heirloom Traditions and Vintiques Chalk Type Paint Products | Thee Velvet Glove

Leave a Reply

