Handmade Texture plus a Chalkboard featuring Heirloom Traditions Paint Products

Hello. I’ve been playing with Venetian Texture Medium by Heirloom Traditions Paint this weekend. Venetian Texture Medium is a paint additive. You can add it into any Heirloom Traditions/Vintiques chalk type paints to thicken the paint color of your choice.  Then you can apply the thickened paint with a brush to create an aged, chippy look or with a putty knife to create a Venetian texture pattern. So fun and a great, easy, way to create texture. There are several different application methods out there. I made a few videos (one handed, so please bear with me) of the way I did it. I’ve had this sandwich board for a while now and wanted a more beachy, weathered look to it.

I poured the color “Sand” Chalk Type Paint by Heirloom Traditions into a container.

Thee Velvet GloveThen, I added a small amount of Venetian Texture Medium. Thee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveThee Velvet Glove

I mixed it up until it got thick.

I applied it like this, forming small peaks by stippling, let it set up until it got about half way dry, then I knocked the peaks down.

In the above video I’m knocking down (flattening) the peaks with the flat edge of my 5 in 1 tool but you can also use a credit card (in this case a Cabela’s Gift Card.), etc., by dragging it across them creating a yummy texture.

Thee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveAfter the Venetian Texture was dry I painted over it with Aqueduct, let the Aqueduct dry and then sanded over it with 150 grit sandpaper. The texture really showed up nicely in a contrast between the two colors. It came out exactly like I wanted.

Thee Velvet Glove Handmade TextureThee Velvet GloveSo that took care of the frame of my sandwich board. For the chalkboard portion I used the color “Black Bean” Chalk Type Paint by Heirloom Traditions. I used two coats on each side, seasoned them with chalk by placing the chalk longways and rubbing it all over the black board, erased it and TADA you have an instant chalkboard surface to write on.

black-bean-300x278__15404.1446061080.1000.1200Thee Velvet Glove ChalkboardThee Velvet GloveHere is a video of Paula Blankenship, Creative Director of Heirloom Traditions Paint demonstrating the application of Venetian Texture.

For more information on Heirloom Traditions products click here.

To locate a retailer in your area click here.

Thank you for stopping by! -L

 

Leave a Reply

