Grit to Glam – Black Leather Recliner Makeover

Hello! Who doesn’t love a good Grit to Glam Makeover? Paula Blankenship from Heirloom Traditions Paint sent me some Reluv Leather Renew in the color Ebony to try. I had the perfect piece to try it on. Squeal!!! Thee Velvet GloveI picked this recliner up one day at Goodwill. I paid $23 and change for it. When I first sat down in it it wouldn’t recline at all. The handle kept getting stuck. But it was super clean under the cushion and it was from The Leather Factory. It had nailhead trim and was very well made! I flipped it over in the store and found that a bracket was jammed. I (somehow) managed to fix it, flipped it back over and it worked like a charm. I asked my friend to please sit in it (I’m fairly sure a gentleman about 10 feet away was waiting to pounce after he saw it recline.) and went to look for someone to write me a ticket up to purchase it.

Thee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveTo prep the leather I used acetone and gave it a good once over, then let it dry. Acetone strips the leather of any oils or conditioners that may have been applied over time. I found this at Home Depot for around $7.00 and I used hardly any of this quart, but it was the smallest size they carried.

Thee Velvet GloveEnter ReLuv and this awesome applicator. It’s called the True Applicator for streak-free applications of topcoats, glazes, stains, paint, etc. Folks, it has slits in the sides so you can get a good grip while you’re applying and it leaves no brush strokes!

Thee Velvet GloveReLuv has a pudding like consistency. I stirred it up with a chopstick and went to town.

Thee Velvet GloveI suggest wearing gloves while applying Reluv. Below is a before and after of one coat. Great coverage! I started with one light coat and added another coat.

Thee Velvet GloveI added some silver to the nail head trim and it’s all finished! It’s like a brand new chair!

Thee Velvet GloveThis stuff is like magic for worn leather! It’s pretty amazing. Check out these before and after shots.

Thee Velvet GloveThee Velvet GloveRight now Reluv Leather Renew is available in three colors: Chestnut Brown, Ebony and Mahogany. It can be used on leather boots, saddles, purses, jackets, briefcases, etc. Reluv will restain your leather without changing the feel of it at all.

reluvall2__55618.1454353180.1000.1200

Here’s a video clip below of Paula demonstrating how to apply Reluv.

Thee Velvet GloveFor more information on Heirloom Traditions products click here.

To locate a retailer in your area click here.

Thank you for stopping by! -L

 

 

9 thoughts on “Grit to Glam – Black Leather Recliner Makeover

  1. This actually looks good although part of the charm of leather chairs is the wear on them. I love Those old, saddle color leather club chairs…with all the scrapes, and creases and patina.

    It looks good on those saddle color ones (my favorite color leather) but the black maybe not so much.

    The shininess of this one after she put the renewal stuff on is actually attractive, especially contrasted with the metal studs.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Thanks! I agree. I have one of those saddle color club chairs you speak of and I love the wear on it. This black one needed help. The wear wasn’t a pretty wear. It was a damaged wear. 🙂

  2. How effective is this product in changing the original shade to a darker color? I was planning to use another product (actually a leather dye that comes in both spray & liquid formulas) to darken a medium brown leather Chesterfield style sofa to mahogany.

  3. Pingback: Before and Afters featuring Heirloom Traditions and Vintiques Chalk Type Paint Products | Thee Velvet Glove

Leave a Reply

