Thrift Store Folding Chair Makeover with 1GEL.

Hello friends!! I’ve been busy recently cleaning out my garage. It’s been much more of a chore than I expected and the Arizona heat doesn’t help.  When I get in a “get rid of it” mood, nothing is safe. I pulled this chair out (that I bought at a thrift store) and put it in the back of my SUV to take to Deseret Industries aka D.I. I pulled up to D.I. with a load of stuff and took another look at it and ended up bringing it back home.

I came home, blew past the garage mess, grabbed my 1GEL and headed to my paper hoard where I picked out some different designs. Leopard, Floral, Stripes and Polka Dots, cause why not?

Thee Velvet Glove

I painted the frame of the chair with one of my go to colors, Mint Julep Chalk Type Paint by Vintiques and then sealed with Vintiques Oxidized Patina Spray Wax. I love the depth the Oxidized Patina adds! To apply the Spray Wax, I shake the bottle really well and pour some out in a bowl then apply it with a brush.

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

And then I attached the paper and sealed with 1GEL as shown in the video above.  That’s why they call it 1GEL, it’s a decoupage, sealer and transfer medium all in one. So easy and this chair is so much more fun than before! Click here for a video demonstration on how to use 1GEL.

Thee Velvet Glove

I waited for the top coat of 1GEL to dry and distressed the paper with 150 and 220 grit sandpaper then resealed.

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

Thee Velvet Glove

 

Thee Velvet Glove

Here is the before and after picture:

Thee Velvet Glove

For more information on Heirloom Traditions products click here.

To locate a retailer in your area click here.

Thank you for stopping by! -L

3 thoughts on “Thrift Store Folding Chair Makeover with 1GEL.

  1. Pingback: Before and Afters featuring Heirloom Traditions and Vintiques Chalk Type Paint Products | Thee Velvet Glove

Leave a Reply

